Talk Show CD


Ships by: June 26, 2024

The Go-Go's returned from a long post-Vacation hiatus with this 1984 album, their punchiest-sounding by a mile, thanks to producer Martin Rushent (Buzzcocks, Altered Images). While its songs don't always touch the brilliance of Beauty and the Beat, Talk Show is the sound of a band's confidence and power peaking. The five manage a good trick here, that of pushing into darker thematic material without losing their sense of strength. Belinda Carlisle turns in her most poignant vocal performances ever, while the players live up to the cranked-to-11 sound Rushent brings them. (The instrumental bridge of "Head Over Heels" is one of the most thrilling things I.R.S. Records ever issued--which, as any New Waver will tell you, is really saying something.) It's both elating and a bit sad that this ended up the last Go-Go's long-player. But that's, as the title seems to imply, show biz. --Rickey Wright


1. Head Over Heels
2. Turn to You
3. You Thought
4.Beneath the Blue Sky
5. Forget That Day
6. I'm the Only One
7. Yes or No
8. Capture the Light
9. I'm with You
10. Mercenary